Cogitation: Twenty Thirteen

It’s the end of the year
and
it’s the perfect time for self-reflection
so
here’s some thangs I learned in 2013

1) Quitting my stressful mental health therapist job at a sketchy company was both awesome and scary. Scary because I lost a considerable amount of income and had to face quitting a job for the first time. Awesome because I went from 3 jobs to 2 and was able to lower my stress-level immensely and gain much peace of mind.

2) Family is important and should be cherished. Even if they are annoying sometimes, I feel better when I am close to my family than when I push them away (which I sometimes have the urge to do). I saw my close friends have with their family members that got ugly and unnecessarily out-of-hand–leaving everyone scarred. I also saw a family members get cancer and another get incarcerated at the most unexpected times and it is/was really hard to cope with.

3) Money does not rule my life, I chose Social Work to help people–not to become rich. Disconnecting myself from my grasp on money has made me and will make me a better person

4) My best friend has a baby boy and another close friend got married. Newborns and weddings are wonderful!

5) I saw marriage through the lenses of two close friends and it reinforced for me that marriage is hard work and is something that should be entered into with much thought and should not be toyed with.

6) God-babies (specifically, mine) are the cutest, most wonderful joys in life and it is an honor and blessing to watch them grow! 🙂

7) It is hard for me to stop comparing yourself to others and just do my own thing–but it is so worth it when I finally do get the nerve up to step out on a limb

8) I love spreading positivity, it helps me and others.

9) I have an EXTREMELY supportive network of friends, family members, and others who are the main reasons for my success.

10) I am valued and respected at work and that feels wonderful!

11) I can generate ideas and bring them to life in AMAZING ways (with the help of others)! I started BmoreMotivated, a  project to spread positivity in Baltimore and I created and coordinated a holiday food drive for my clients that collected over $3,000 to provide food baskets for families who would have likely gone without for the Thanksgiving and Christmas.

12) Four of my close friends started grad/professional school and I feel grateful to be surrounded by  women who are such inspirations.

13) I pushed my boundaries this year. I need to say no to some things and it is okay to have boundaries. But it is not okay to push those boundaries and stress myself out.

14) I have strengthened the relationships between me and my closest family members and friends and it feels good to the closer to the people who truly know my soul and understand and accept me. It makes sense

15) I am very critical  (I didn’t just learn that this year, I have known for a while) and I need to understand that everything doesn’t need criticism or analyzing, it is okay to leave some things alone.

16) I am enough, even when I don’t feel like it.

17) I have been following a ton of blogs for several years now and I never had the confidence to start my own, and this past year, I started TWO! I am proud of myself.

18) Families are complex and complicated and even if I can’t always figure out why people are/are not doing certain things, those people still deserve love, support, and understanding.

19) I was the brokest I have ever been in my life this past year. I learned a whole lot of humility and I got a tiny glimpse into what many people (and many of my clients) experience every day.

20) Young people are my passion and I really believe investment in their futures will save and change the world if we all put our minds to it.

 

Leave a Reply

