Cogitation: Books I’ve Been Reading

One of my goals this year was to read at least one book per month this year
and
it’s June and I’m on my 6th book
so
I am doing pretty well so far
and here’s my take on the ones I’ve finished

1) And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Husseini: Seriously, this book is SO good. I mean the way the author weaves the story lines is so beautiful and remarkable. I honestly couldn’t put it down and I haven’t felt like that about a book in a long time.

2) I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai: First, let me say that Malala is an amazingly brave young woman and she’s such an inspiration. I didn’t love the way the book was written, it felt a little forced to me however I am totally inspired by Malala’s story and it gave me a different perspective on the US’s relations with the Middle East.

3) A Man Named Dave by Dave Pelzer: I read this book because I wanted to know what became of the little boy from a Child Called It. I must say, this book was not my favorite. It didn’t feel very genuine to me but I do think it’s amazing what the author has endured.

4) Breath, Eyes, Memory by Edwidge Dandicat: Loved it! Edwidge Dandicat is such a greta writer that I knew I wouldn’t be disappointed. It was a quick refreshing read and I would totally recommend it.

5) Salvation: Black People and Love by bell hooks: I am not even sure I can put into words what I feel about this book. It is one of the most eye-opening and perspective-shifting books that I have ever read. It made me think about so many things in new ways. If I were to go through and highlight the “Aha!” moments and quote-able lines, I would have highlighted almost the whole thing. I rarely buy books but I am definitely buying this one.

Leave a Reply

