Exploration: Concrete Jungle

Me, the BF, and my little sister decided to take a spontaneous trip to NY to visit my older sister for the Fourth of July weekend. We had a great time and did a ton of stuff in a short amount of time, it was awesome. We went to see the Kara Walker exhibit “A Subtlety” and it was strikingly powerful to say the least. I had such a mix of emotions while viewing it, I felt sorrow for the struggles that poor Black women and children (and men) have suffered with no recognition but I also felt a sense of pride of perseverance that Black people have (and continue to) overcome so many obstacles placed before them. I feel like it was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see it and I am so glad I made it, on closing weekend, no less. We also rode the Staten Island Ferry, went to an outdoor concert in Prospect Park, and walked along The Highline–which, by the way, is completely amazing! I always love visiting NY and this time was no exception.

Leave a Reply

