More Art, Less Stuff

cce848143d49cd93f9f97616c1742913

Okay so I just found this post in my drafts file from 3 months ago and I reread it and realized it is still true and is very similar to the New Year’s resolutions that I have set for myself this year.

Here’s what the original draft said:

Recently, I have been shopping too much. I love clothes, shoes, accessories, etc. but I have so many and I don’t think I need to keep adding so much stuff to my life. I think I have been buying stuff to make me feel better about several things that are going on in my personal life right now and I want to change my coping mechanism. So, I am challenging myself to make something or at least work on an existing arts/crafts project any time I feel the urge to shop. This will help me use what I have and will give me a healthier and more-budget friendly outlet. Now this does not mean that I am not going to buy anything at all, it just means I want to really slow down. I don’t know how long this will last, but I am interested to see how it goes!

This year I have challenged myself to create art in some big or small way every day and I am documenting my creations on an Instagram account that I created. Now I certainly have not lived up to this goal all the way, but I think about it everyday and it has already encouraged me to get back into art more. Plus I crochet pretty much everyday, but I don’t always photograph it. So I’m working on that and I also just decided this past weekend to cut my closet down to a capsule wardrobe. A capsule wardrobe is one that has a limited number of pieces that are worn for an entire season (3 months) and things can be switched out and in depending on the weather. There’s more information at this cute lil blog that I have been following called Unfancy. Anyway I am hoping this will help me save money by not shopping so much and will teach me to do more with less. In actuality, I have and have had so many clothes but I really only wear a small number of my favorite things, so what’s the point of all the extra? Mostly it makes me feel bogged down and burdened. So far I have done a very large purge and I feel SO good about it. I am going to write a more detailed post about it soon.

Leave a Reply

